Life imitates art

If you’ve read my mystery Died On The Vine (and if you haven’t, what are you waiting for? – go here), you recall that my narrator Cissy finds a stray kitten, black with white paws.

In fact, I once found a stray kitten, black with white paws.

Weird thing, though, is that I found the real kitten years after Cissy found the fictional kitten.

It’s sort of eerie. Compare Cissy’s description of Tough Stuff with this:

Sam

Inorite?

Of course, it wasn’t a complete replay of the novel. No dead body for one thing. And unlike Tough Stuff, Sam wasn’t an abandoned sole survivor. No, he came with two brothers, and a mama.

kitten family

Awww?

Really – one day I was passing the sliding doors out to the deck and did a double take – there were KITTENS on my deck!

the brothers

Their mom brought them to my deck, she knew a sucker when she saw one. She was pretty wild, she’d come in with the kittens to eat, but she didn’t want to be a house pet. And so — she moved on.

The kittens still felt the need for a mother figure. You know, like Polly the dog befriending Tough Stuff in the book?

Jenny's new friends

Remember, all this was happening about seven years after I wrote Died On The Vine.  Weird, huh?

Maybe I should write about someone finding a sweet hunky guy who’s a great cook.  Couldn’t hurt.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Life imitates art

  1. Deb Mc.

    AWWWWWW! 😀
    All cute, but that first one of Sam — all ears and eyes, adorable! Yeah, definitely write about a sweet hunky guy who cooks and maybe he also just won the Lotto.

  2. Victoria

    OH my gosh!!! I can’t believe Sam was that little! how sweet! Let me know how the Hunky man chef goes… If it works I will take up writing!

    • Victoria

      OH and that must be Jenny in the last pic?! She looks a lot like Juneau did (my Samoyed.)

      • Yep, that’s Jenny. She was getting fairly elderly by the time the kittens came along. They just adored her and would climb all over her. She was obviously so proud to have her very own kittens.

  3. I just wrote a cat story for Rachel Harrie’s Campaign challenge.
    Over here from your comment on LinkedIn.

    Lee (#126 on the Campaign Challenge List)
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

Leave a Reply

