Fitness Challenge, Week 1

I’ve successfully completed the first week of the Fitness Challenge at the Y. I took three fitness classes this week.

Monday was Aqua Surprise, which is water aerobics. I took water aerobics ages ago, but after I learned to swim I got all superior about it, so I hadn’t taken a class in years. It’s a lot harder than I remembered! But when the class is over, the jacuzzi is right there.

Wednesday I took Muscle Pump. I knew it was a weights class, but when I got there and saw the folks setting up their areas with barbells, I almost walked right back out. For some reason, I find barbells a lot more intimidating than dumbbells. But I needed the signature on my fitness challenge card, so I gave it a try. It was actually… sorta fun. Not easy, no. But I did the warmup with just the bar, and then added the smallest weights to the bar and made it through the whole class. I had a bit of muscle soreness later, but nothing debilitating, so yay me.

Friday I took Beginner’s Tai Chi. This was the first of a new class, so we started right at the beginning. I’d tried Tai Chi before with videos, and never quite got it. Now it seems to me that the videos try to get you to do too many new things at once. In this class, we’d learn a move and repeat repeat repeat. I really enjoyed it.

So there are my three classes. When I started the challenge, I intended to do a lot of sampling around of the various classes, but I think I might just make these three my regulars. They’re nicely spaced, a good variety and at a good time of day for me.

I’m also doing the stationary bike in the fitness center for aerobics, so in six weeks I hope to see some real improvement.

So that’s my week – gettin’ fit, gettin’ strong!

Oh, and I’ve also been tinkering around with Pinterest, which is Strangely Compelling – come take a look:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

