Fitness, Creativity – and Fudge!

I’m starting to come to the conclusion that there is a weight over which I can’t write.

Consider. Last spring I wrote Bidding On Death. I recall it moved along rather smoothly. In the summer, I started my current book, A Feather To Fly With. I wrote about 15,000 words and then got bogged down. I’m not sure what my weight was during those periods, since I wasn’t paying attention. But I do know that when I’m not paying attention, the weight creeps up. Then in the fall, I started the weight loss challenge. I hoped to get the book kick-started at the same time, but that didn’t seem to get moving till right before Christmas, when I had a brief flurry of creativity and made some more headway.

Then came Christmas, and over the holiday season I ran amok. Gained back a good portion of the weight I’d lost. Come January, I tried to get the book moving again, without much success. Until a couple weeks ago, when I got my weight back to where it was before Christmas, and once again, the book is unstuck.

Call it superstition, but I know that number now, and will endeavor to keep below it.

In fact, the creativity seems to be running off in all different directions, with more plot threads than I know what to do with, not to mention a number of ideas for new stories. But as a problem, this is a better one to have.

Another creative outlet I’m working on – I’m attempting to make chocolate fudge with chickpeas. No, wait, hear me out!

Chickpeas can be ground or mashed into a smooth paste; that’s the basis of hummus. But the chickpeas themselves have almost no flavor – what we think of as hummus flavor is actually the garlic, lemon, and tahini. I saw an article in O Magazine a while back about making different flavors of hummus, and one was a chocolate hummus. A lovely idea, but that got me thinking about fudge. Fudge would be firmer than a hummus; I’m looking for little squares you can pick up with your fingers and eat from your hand.

I’m not quite there yet. My first attempt is still too soft. It makes squares, you can pick it up, but there’s a mushiness I want to try to overcome.

Still, it is delicious! If you’re interested in Chickpea Fudge 1.0, I used a can of drained chickpeas, 5 tablespoons of cocoa powder, and 4 tablespoons of Truvia. I added half a tablespoon of olive oil and a quarter cup of water to ease the blending. Next time I’ll try less water and perhaps a smidge more oil. There’s no cooking involved, just get everything smoothly blended. I used my stick blender in a small pan, and then spooned the results into a small oiled square container. It was firmer after a night in the fridge.

I’m already thinking of fudge variations. Add peanut butter, for a Snickers effect? How about some grated coconut? Maybe chopped nuts.

Oh, but a word of warning. This is a very creamy confection, requiring no chewing at all, but don’t be deceived – it’s high in fiber. That’s good, of course, we all need more fiber. But if you add too much fiber too quickly to a habitual low-fiber diet, well, there could be digestive consequences. So don’t eat the whole thing at once. You’ll want to, it’s that good. But try to control yourself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

